Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 03:59:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 [550] 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4815978 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Xmansk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 08:33:19 AM
 #10981

Maybe it is somewhere here in this thread but there are so many posts that i would not find it in a day, so I will just ask.

Why there is so big difference in rejected ratio in CGMiner mining with intensity 13 and with intensity 20? I am mining DigitalCoin (crypt, 20s block time)
When i mine with I 13 my rejection ratio is ~0.5% @ 540kh/s per card.
When i mine with I 20 my rejection ratio is ~7.5% @ 700kh/s per card.

Why is there so big difference? It is caused by CGMiner, by Pool, by connection, ... ? Is there a way to lower rejection ratio with intensity 20?

BTC: 13VR6e4XaGGhwq6LMGuFYdQWM5FwVqKSDY
LTC: LWyrhxuxJk8rVnGaUP98xPhVg445Qka1qr
DGC: DNgv3ZYpCwQR8spfgwANc8vAExq7danf7W
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
1480823952
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480823952

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480823952
Reply with quote  #2

1480823952
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 09:21:20 AM
 #10982

Maybe it is somewhere here in this thread but there are so many posts that i would not find it in a day, so I will just ask.

Why there is so big difference in rejected ratio in CGMiner mining with intensity 13 and with intensity 20? I am mining DigitalCoin (crypt, 20s block time)
When i mine with I 13 my rejection ratio is ~0.5% @ 540kh/s per card.
When i mine with I 20 my rejection ratio is ~7.5% @ 700kh/s per card.

Why is there so big difference? It is caused by CGMiner, by Pool, by connection, ... ? Is there a way to lower rejection ratio with intensity 20?

At intensity 20 it takes forever for your GPU to return its results, so by the time it has returned them, fast chain changing altcoins are all onto their next block. This also explains why orphans are extremely common with fast block coins and why ultimately, they're crap since such a system provides no extra actual security (or fast confirmations since you can't trust any confirmations), just more chain fights.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Wisher
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 09:26:09 AM
 #10983

plz, help, how to run the autostart cgminer in ubuntu.
Xmansk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 09:36:42 AM
 #10984

Maybe it is somewhere here in this thread but there are so many posts that i would not find it in a day, so I will just ask.

Why there is so big difference in rejected ratio in CGMiner mining with intensity 13 and with intensity 20? I am mining DigitalCoin (crypt, 20s block time)
When i mine with I 13 my rejection ratio is ~0.5% @ 540kh/s per card.
When i mine with I 20 my rejection ratio is ~7.5% @ 700kh/s per card.

Why is there so big difference? It is caused by CGMiner, by Pool, by connection, ... ? Is there a way to lower rejection ratio with intensity 20?

At intensity 20 it takes forever for your GPU to return its results, so by the time it has returned them, fast chain changing altcoins are all onto their next block. This also explains why orphans are extremely common with fast block coins and why ultimately, they're crap since such a system provides no extra actual security (or fast confirmations since you can't trust any confirmations), just more chain fights.

And why it takes forever? Why with I 13 it does not take forever? What is different?

BTC: 13VR6e4XaGGhwq6LMGuFYdQWM5FwVqKSDY
LTC: LWyrhxuxJk8rVnGaUP98xPhVg445Qka1qr
DGC: DNgv3ZYpCwQR8spfgwANc8vAExq7danf7W
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 09:39:08 AM
 #10985

Maybe it is somewhere here in this thread but there are so many posts that i would not find it in a day, so I will just ask.

Why there is so big difference in rejected ratio in CGMiner mining with intensity 13 and with intensity 20? I am mining DigitalCoin (crypt, 20s block time)
When i mine with I 13 my rejection ratio is ~0.5% @ 540kh/s per card.
When i mine with I 20 my rejection ratio is ~7.5% @ 700kh/s per card.

Why is there so big difference? It is caused by CGMiner, by Pool, by connection, ... ? Is there a way to lower rejection ratio with intensity 20?

At intensity 20 it takes forever for your GPU to return its results, so by the time it has returned them, fast chain changing altcoins are all onto their next block. This also explains why orphans are extremely common with fast block coins and why ultimately, they're crap since such a system provides no extra actual security (or fast confirmations since you can't trust any confirmations), just more chain fights.

And why it takes forever? Why with I 13 it does not take forever? What is different?
...you're turning the intensity up meaning your handing the GPU many many times more work. GPUs take work, work on it for a while and return results at the end, they're nothing like CPUs. Going up in intensity you're giving it many many many times more work (it's an exponential function to intensity).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 10:37:11 AM
 #10986

Does anything need to be done with 3.1.1 for the USB Erruptor?

Code:
root@bitcoin-miner1:~# cgminer -V
cgminer 3.1.1
root@bitcoin-miner1:~# uname -a
Linux bitcoin-miner1 3.2.0-27-generic #43-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jul 6 14:25:57 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
root@bitcoin-miner1:~# cgminer -n
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1016.4)
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] Platform 0 devices: 1
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10]  0       Tahiti
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] 1 GPU devices max detected
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] USB all: found 6 devices - listing known devices
 [2013-06-12 20:04:10] No known USB devices
root@bitcoin-miner1:~# ls /dev/ttyUSB0
/dev/ttyUSB0

I'm running with

Code:
/usr/local/bin/cgminer --auto-fan --auto-gpu --syslog -T --gpu-engine 1100 --gpu-memdiff -150 -I 10 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=80 -o stratum+tcp://cryptominer.org:9332 -u xxxx -p xxxx

The machine also has a Gigabyte 9750 in it which is merrily hashing away.


EDIT: Nevermind, I missed the "-S /dev/ttyUSB0" - It appears to be working now.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 10:57:07 AM
 #10987

When I press Q to quit CGMiner 3.2.1 most of the time it crash's.  Once out of 3 or 4 times does it display the summary when pressing Q.

Win7 32bit running cgminer-nogpu.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 11:05:59 AM
 #10988

I'm trying to disable two AMU's, out of 4 total, in each CGMiner session.

"-d 0 -d 1 --remove-disabled" in the first session works fine.
"-d 2 -d 3 --remove-disabled" in the second session does not work.

when I run CGMiner-nogpu -n it says "failed to open, err -3"

It appears that you intend for CGMiner to be able to do this and I would like to run two sessions for two different pools.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Xmansk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 11:13:08 AM
 #10989

And why it takes forever? Why with I 13 it does not take forever? What is different?
...you're turning the intensity up meaning your handing the GPU many many times more work. GPUs take work, work on it for a while and return results at the end, they're nothing like CPUs. Going up in intensity you're giving it many many many times more work (it's an exponential function to intensity).

So basically my higher hashrate at intensity 20 is caused because GPU use all availiabe resources to solve work so it solve more work, but it does not do it faster? If so, I should try to find highest possible hashrate at intensity 13.

BTC: 13VR6e4XaGGhwq6LMGuFYdQWM5FwVqKSDY
LTC: LWyrhxuxJk8rVnGaUP98xPhVg445Qka1qr
DGC: DNgv3ZYpCwQR8spfgwANc8vAExq7danf7W
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 11:19:30 AM
 #10990

And why it takes forever? Why with I 13 it does not take forever? What is different?
...you're turning the intensity up meaning your handing the GPU many many times more work. GPUs take work, work on it for a while and return results at the end, they're nothing like CPUs. Going up in intensity you're giving it many many many times more work (it's an exponential function to intensity).

So basically my higher hashrate at intensity 20 is caused because GPU use all availiabe resources to solve work so it solve more work, but it does not do it faster? If so, I should try to find highest possible hashrate at intensity 13.

You probably should use trial and error find the intensity that gives you the best combination of hash rate, low error rate and best U:/WU:

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 11:26:17 AM
 #10991

I'm trying to disable two AMU's, out of 4 total, in each CGMiner session.

"-d 0 -d 1 --remove-disabled" in the first session works fine.
"-d 2 -d 3 --remove-disabled" in the second session does not work.

when I run CGMiner-nogpu -n it says "failed to open, err -3"

It appears that you intend for CGMiner to be able to do this and I would like to run two sessions for two different pools.
Thanks,
Sam
The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 11:51:33 AM
 #10992

I'm trying to disable two AMU's, out of 4 total, in each CGMiner session.

"-d 0 -d 1 --remove-disabled" in the first session works fine.
"-d 2 -d 3 --remove-disabled" in the second session does not work.

when I run CGMiner-nogpu -n it says "failed to open, err -3"

It appears that you intend for CGMiner to be able to do this and I would like to run two sessions for two different pools.
Thanks,
Sam
The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

Ah, in other words RTFM Smiley.  I found the section in the readme and I'll give it a whirl tonight.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 12:01:44 PM
 #10993

The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

I went ahead and tried it now.

"--usb 5:1,5:2" in one instance
"--usb 3:1,3:2" in the other instance

Both hashing away just fine.  Now I can more objectively compare pools.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 01:48:22 PM
 #10994

Are there any reasons to update from 3.1.1 to 3.2.1 if you are only using gpus ?
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 03:16:41 PM
 #10995

The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

I went ahead and tried it now.

"--usb 5:1,5:2" in one instance
"--usb 3:1,3:2" in the other instance

Both hashing away just fine.  Now I can more objectively compare pools.
Thanks,
Sam

Is that all that is necessary to run multiple instances or is there other "secret sauce"?  What do  the number mean?
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 03:24:06 PM
 #10996

The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.

I went ahead and tried it now.

"--usb 5:1,5:2" in one instance
"--usb 3:1,3:2" in the other instance

Both hashing away just fine.  Now I can more objectively compare pools.
Thanks,
Sam

Is that all that is necessary to run multiple instances or is there other "secret sauce"?  What do  the number mean?

i believe the number is bus:device.

so "5:1" means device 1 on bus 5. on linux lsusb shows you the bus and device number for each usb device.

salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 550


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 04:13:01 PM
 #10997

I went to switch back to Bitcoin mining yesterday on a box that had been mining altcoins with cgminer 3.2.1 (built on an amd64 Gentoo box with a source tarball pulled from https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/archive/v3.2.1.tar.gz.  I have these pools configured in cgminer.conf:

Code:
"pools" : [
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333/",
                "user" : "salfter_lanbox",
                "pass" : "**redacted**"
        },
        {
                "url" : "stratum+tcp://us.eclipsemc.com:3333/",
                "user" : "salfter_lanbox",
                "pass" : "**redacted**"
        }
]

The config file was unchanged from when I last used it.  cgminer 3.2.1 produces this error on startup:

Code:
[2013-06-12 09:04:09] Started cgminer 3.2.1
 [2013-06-12 09:04:09] Started cgminer 3.2.1
 [2013-06-12 09:04:09] Loaded configuration file /home/salfter/.cgminer/cgminer.
conf
 [2013-06-12 09:04:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-06-12 09:04:10] Failed to resolve (?wrong URL) us.eclipsemc.com:3333/
 [2013-06-12 09:04:10] Failed to resolve (?wrong URL) mint.bitminter.com:3333/

When I downgraded to cgminer 3.1.0, it runs like a champ.  I've used cgminer 3.2.1 to mine altcoins on stratum pools...but I just noticed that the URLs for those pools don't have trailing slashes, while the ones for the Bitcoin pools do:

Code:
salfter@lanbox ~ $ grep stratum .cgminer/cgminer.conf.*
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.bitcoin:         "url" : "stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333/",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.bitcoin:         "url" : "stratum+tcp://us.eclipsemc.com:3333/",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.digitalcoin:              "url" : "stratum+tcp://dgcpool.com:3333",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.digitalcoin:              "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool.digicoinpool.com:3344",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.feathercoin:              "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum.wemineftc.com:4444",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.feathercoin:              "url" : "stratum+tcp://pool.fcpool.com:3334",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.feathercoin:              "url" : "stratum+tcp://feathercoin.is-a-geek.com:3333",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.litecoin:         "url" : "stratum+tcp://us.wemineltc.com:80",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.litecoin:         "url" : "stratum+tcp://eu.wemineltc.com:3333",
.cgminer/cgminer.conf.worldcoin:                "url" : "stratum+tcp://wdc-eu.epools.org:3334",

I think cgminer 3.2.1 might not like the trailing slash, while previous versions didn't care.

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | Gridseed Miners - $25 off your first order | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 05:05:45 PM
 #10998

[2013-06-12 09:04:10] Failed to resolve (?wrong URL) us.eclipsemc.com:3333/
 [2013-06-12 09:04:10] Failed to resolve (?wrong URL) mint.bitminter.com:3333/
Get rid of the trailing slashes.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 07:20:53 PM
 #10999

How to get the network difficulty per coin or pool?

I am using cgminer with multiple pools for different coins. Then using the API to control which pool is currently active (all sha256). But, I want to query a particular coins current difficulty. Is it possible?

the pool command gives output like http://pastie.org/private/c2qa7mv7dsncpnyxkcryoa for each pool. No difficulty.
the coin command gives

Code:
{u'COIN': [{u'Current Block Hash': u'xxxxSNIPxxxx',
   u'Current Block Time': 1371063749.732006,
   u'Hash Method': u'sha256',
   u'LP': True,
   u'Network Difficulty': 295934.4819144}],
 u'STATUS': [{u'Code': 78,
   u'Description': u'cgminer 3.1.1',
   u'Msg': u'CGMiner coin',
   u'STATUS': u'S',
   u'When': 1371064803}],
 u'id': 1}

Which i presume belongs to the current active pool (ppcoin).

Q1: Is it possible to get 'Network Difficulty' in pool output?
Q2: Is it possible to create our own "coin" objects and associate pools to a coin? If so how?

Apologies if its been asked before, i couldn't find a solution.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 07:46:11 PM
 #11000

I am using cgminer with multiple pools for different coins.

Taken straight from the first paragraph of the README:
Quote
Do not use on multiple block chains at the same time!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: « 1 ... 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 [550] 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!