Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:55:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 [535] 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825908 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:12:00 AM
 #10681

Of course

oops do u have a debug, cpu fixed?
Not today, at work... gimme another day.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481352925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352925
Reply with quote  #2

1481352925
Report to moderator
1481352925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352925
Reply with quote  #2

1481352925
Report to moderator
1481352925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481352925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481352925
Reply with quote  #2

1481352925
Report to moderator
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:14:08 AM
 #10682

IS there a benefit of using nogpu.exe vs no gpu in config file?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:16:33 AM
 #10683

IS there a benefit of using nogpu.exe vs no gpu in config file?
It just doesn't have the gpu code built into it so you don't need opencl installed (opencl.dll required etc). Otherwise it behaves the same.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eurgbp2011
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:26:12 AM
 #10684

Hi!
I am LTC Miner
Love your work
please make LTC address for donations

Thanks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:38:49 AM
 #10685

Hi!
I am LTC Miner
Love your work
please make LTC address for donations

Thanks!
His address is in SCRYPT-README

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:06:40 AM
 #10686

I have a question about Linux usage: once you have connected via SSH, how do you get the output of cgminer (or any other running process, for that matter)?

daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:39:28 AM
 #10687

I run cgminer under daemontools. Use --syslog to send most of the log output to the system log and redirect output from the command line to /tmp/cgminer.log, so you can see the ongoing hashrate.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 04:40:21 AM
 #10688

You can use "screen" too

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:44:57 AM
 #10689

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:48:52 AM
 #10690

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

Could you elaborate on what PXE booting, daemontools, and puppet mean? I'm a Windows guy!

daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:53:06 AM
 #10691

Could you elaborate on what PXE booting, daemontools, and puppet mean? I'm a Windows guy!

Sure:
PXE booting means booting off the network from a file server - no disks in the machine and they all share the same root filesystem on the file server
daemontools is a program for supervising processes - if they die it automatically restarts them
puppet is a configuration management tool for linux

I should probably do a howto for all this, parts of this could be easily re-used without needing the whole setup.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:26:47 AM
 #10692

Could you elaborate on what PXE booting, daemontools, and puppet mean? I'm a Windows guy!

Sure:
PXE booting means booting off the network from a file server - no disks in the machine and they all share the same root filesystem on the file server
daemontools is a program for supervising processes - if they die it automatically restarts them
puppet is a configuration management tool for linux

I should probably do a howto for all this, parts of this could be easily re-used without needing the whole setup.

Many thanks for the helpful response. I for one would appreciate a howto on making the RPi/MinePeon more automatic.

Blisk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 05:41:25 AM
 #10693

Can I hope in future that temp-cutoff will shut down cgminer too not just stop using gpu?

Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:55:51 AM
 #10694

EDIT: Now I get it. Well I did some testings and I can get about 4% more if I set up to 10 and 12. And that is missing at the moment... As far as I know 8 and 9 were limits in older versions...

There aren't really any limits per version of CGMiner, except where it tops out at which I think is 14.  But the limit is per GPU type.  9 is about the max that gets you the best performance.  But I have 5xxx series GPU's so 8 or 9 is the highest which is best for those.  If you have newer GPU's then maybe you can go higher.  I would recommend keeping an eye on your U: and HW errors though.

Again the FAQ in the top post explains allot of this.
Sam
Upper limit is 20 and numbers that I have are from test are 5770 and 6790 preforms best with 10 and 5850, 5970, 6870 performs best with 12. No problems whit HW and U is higher(2 day testing)... So can we stop this. I will use that settings if possible. I'm not asking if it is OK to use it. So no need to continue.

I would like to know why I can't use setting for intensity higher then 8 with 8 GPU cores and I was able to do so with 5 cores. What is a solution or workaround...
chanberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 06:39:17 AM
 #10695

Could you elaborate on what PXE booting, daemontools, and puppet mean? I'm a Windows guy!

Sure:
PXE booting means booting off the network from a file server - no disks in the machine and they all share the same root filesystem on the file server
daemontools is a program for supervising processes - if they die it automatically restarts them
puppet is a configuration management tool for linux

I should probably do a howto for all this, parts of this could be easily re-used without needing the whole setup.

+1
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:39:56 AM
 #10696

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.


http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7049252/how-to-create-a-screen-executing-given-command

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:45:49 AM
 #10697

I am using Avast, but it seems to be detecting the program as a virus, does it matter?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:48:18 AM
 #10698

No continue ignore virus

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:50:14 AM
 #10699

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

You can automate the starting of 'screen' also.  My machines automatically resume mining (with 'screen') after a reboot as well.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:51:24 AM
 #10700

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
Pages: « 1 ... 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 [535] 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!