Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2017, 09:05:26 AM *
News: The warning which may be displayed by Bitcoin Core about unknown versions is related to BIP91, and can be safely ignored.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 [536] 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 ... 835 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5297821 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:59:15 AM
 #10701

Screen by default is closing itself if application ends, also when it crash.
see screen --help to find workaround Smiley
Will do, thanks!


How do people do it without screen? Just keep ssh up? A disconnect kills it right? This is one thing Windows rdp is amazing with.
I found tmux when looking for alternatives. Looks promising to me, but then I'm a noob

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
1500714326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500714326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500714326
Reply with quote  #2

1500714326
Report to moderator
1500714326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500714326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500714326
Reply with quote  #2

1500714326
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500714326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500714326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500714326
Reply with quote  #2

1500714326
Report to moderator
1500714326
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500714326

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500714326
Reply with quote  #2

1500714326
Report to moderator
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:02:25 AM
 #10702

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

I have been using screen reliably since I started mining 15 months ago.  I have never seen screen crash.  I have seen no screen available messages a couple times, when trying to do screen -r, but that always meant that cgminer, itself, crashed (screen exits when the command it started exits.  I know it these were cgminer crashes because my shell script that wraps the start and stop logs the start time immediately before cgminer starts and the stop time immediately after it exits.  The current iteration of my shell script actually has a loop in it that restarts cgminer if it ever exits instead of just exiting itself, and since then I have never seen screen not be available when attaching to it.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 10:20:25 AM
 #10703

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

Code:
while : #Run forever.. until end of time....
do
        screen .......
        logger -t myawesomescript "Cgminer crashed" # This goes into /var/log/syslog
        sleep 15 #Just for fun.
done

ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:47:30 AM
 #10704

Does anyone know if these will work with the K16 which I believe uses the Icarus protocol?  I don't physically have the board yet so at this point its just a question.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 10:52:07 AM
 #10705

I would assume so since what else could they have used to test the board?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:06:24 PM
 #10706

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

You can automate the starting of 'screen' also.  My machines automatically resume mining (with 'screen') after a reboot as well.

Would you mind sharing your code for this? I can't seem to get mine up & running... It's a pain having to re-type everything on a restart.... Angry

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
bitcoinminer42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


in math we trust


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:15:35 PM
 #10707

screen -dmS <name> cgminer <params>

"Die Tulpenzwiebel-Spekulationen sind in einer Art Fieber zustande gekommen, also im Zustand der Unzurechnungsfähigkeit. Bei Spielsucht ist aber nicht der Staat zuständig, sondern der Arzt." (Niederländisches Parlament 1637)
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:44:46 PM
 #10708

I am using Avast, but it seems to be detecting the program as a virus, does it matter?

Well, AVAST sucks for a start.  Use Microsoft Security Essentials. 

Second, as long as you downloaded cgminer from the correct place, it won't be a virus.  Use only the links in the first post on this thread.  I've seen cgminer packages hosted on Rapidshare and the likes, and they have had a virus in them.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1346


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 01:46:09 PM
 #10709

MSE will chocke any system... Avira better ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
 #10710

Kano, it seems that most everyone in this forum:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.1760 has not been able to get cgminer 3.2.0 to work with the little USB block erupters. The people that have been successful are using 3.1.1. You seemed so confident that it would work and I assume you have one of these devices too. Given that it worked fine for you and for none of us (that I am aware of), it's probably something simple to fix, like a missing library or something?

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

Edit:  did you get one of the original block erupters and ours are the new Sapphire version?
stormos
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:54:32 PM
 #10711

3.2.0. crashes at any of my gpu only rigs (win7) but works fine at computer with BFL FPGA device
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:07:35 PM
 #10712

Of course

oops do u have a debug, cpu fixed?
Not today, at work... gimme another day.
Here you go:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:18:17 PM
 #10713

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:25:36 PM
 #10714

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Sorry, this is news to me. I haven't seen the posts you are talking about. Even so, the devices still don't show up on the ncurses display. Anything else that needs to be done to get them recognized?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:26:27 PM
 #10715

Kano, it seems that most everyone in this forum:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.1760 has not been able to get cgminer 3.2.0 to work with the little USB block erupters. The people that have been successful are using 3.1.1. You seemed so confident that it would work and I assume you have one of these devices too. Given that it worked fine for you and for none of us (that I am aware of), it's probably something simple to fix, like a missing library or something?
We're investigating. For the time being, consider 3.1.1 the stable release for that hardware as 3.2 is still under heavy development. TTY devices/COM ports are supposed to disappear with our direct USB implementation code in 3.2+.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:27:15 PM
 #10716

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Sorry, this is news to me. I haven't seen the posts you are talking about. Even so, the devices still don't show up on the ncurses display. Anything else that needs to be done to get them recognized?
Permissions problem potentially. Follow the same udev file procedure as documented for BFL devices in ASIC-README.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:38:04 PM
 #10717

Permissions problem potentially. Follow the same udev file procedure as documented for BFL devices in ASIC-README.

Those instructions were already followed. Still no-go.
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:59:54 PM
 #10718

Nice! Thanks for your efforts....

<cut>

You are allowed to not quote everything again here...

You didn't even mention that he had top-posted.  Then again, top-posting and not trimming quotes seem to go together like gonorrhea and crabs.  Tongue

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator
Blisk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 03:32:09 PM
 #10719

with the same settings version 3.1.1 I have fan speed about 2500rpm
with version 3.2.0 gpu fan speed is full 3600rpm
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 584


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 03:50:31 PM
 #10720

For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

1) hardware doesn't support it (not that I run cgminer on it, but the Core Solo in my notebook only supports x86)
2) x86 is more suitable for memory-constrained systems than amd64 (x32 is supposed to provide most of the advantages of amd64 with the smaller memory footprint of x86, but I haven't tried it yet)...my VPS is x86 for this reason

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator
Pages: « 1 ... 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 [536] 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 ... 835 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!