Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 10:39:03 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 [536] 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5762053 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366
Merit: 1043


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 10:52:07 AM
 #10701

I would assume so since what else could they have used to test the board?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
1537569543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537569543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537569543
Reply with quote  #2

1537569543
Report to moderator
1537569543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537569543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537569543
Reply with quote  #2

1537569543
Report to moderator
1537569543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537569543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537569543
Reply with quote  #2

1537569543
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537569543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537569543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537569543
Reply with quote  #2

1537569543
Report to moderator
1537569543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537569543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537569543
Reply with quote  #2

1537569543
Report to moderator
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:06:24 PM
 #10702

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

You can automate the starting of 'screen' also.  My machines automatically resume mining (with 'screen') after a reboot as well.

Would you mind sharing your code for this? I can't seem to get mine up & running... It's a pain having to re-type everything on a restart.... Angry

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
bitcoinminer42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1026


notorious shrimp!


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:15:35 PM
 #10703

screen -dmS <name> cgminer <params>

"Die Tulpenzwiebel-Spekulationen sind in einer Art Fieber zustande gekommen, also im Zustand der Unzurechnungsfähigkeit. Bei Spielsucht ist aber nicht der Staat zuständig, sondern der Arzt." (Niederländisches Parlament 1637)
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:44:46 PM
 #10704

I am using Avast, but it seems to be detecting the program as a virus, does it matter?

Well, AVAST sucks for a start.  Use Microsoft Security Essentials. 

Second, as long as you downloaded cgminer from the correct place, it won't be a virus.  Use only the links in the first post on this thread.  I've seen cgminer packages hosted on Rapidshare and the likes, and they have had a virus in them.

rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 01:46:09 PM
 #10705

MSE will chocke any system... Avira better ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
 #10706

Kano, it seems that most everyone in this forum:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.1760 has not been able to get cgminer 3.2.0 to work with the little USB block erupters. The people that have been successful are using 3.1.1. You seemed so confident that it would work and I assume you have one of these devices too. Given that it worked fine for you and for none of us (that I am aware of), it's probably something simple to fix, like a missing library or something?

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

Edit:  did you get one of the original block erupters and ours are the new Sapphire version?
stormos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:54:32 PM
 #10707

3.2.0. crashes at any of my gpu only rigs (win7) but works fine at computer with BFL FPGA device
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:07:35 PM
 #10708

Of course

oops do u have a debug, cpu fixed?
Not today, at work... gimme another day.
Here you go:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:18:17 PM
 #10709

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:25:36 PM
 #10710

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Sorry, this is news to me. I haven't seen the posts you are talking about. Even so, the devices still don't show up on the ncurses display. Anything else that needs to be done to get them recognized?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:26:27 PM
 #10711

Kano, it seems that most everyone in this forum:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.1760 has not been able to get cgminer 3.2.0 to work with the little USB block erupters. The people that have been successful are using 3.1.1. You seemed so confident that it would work and I assume you have one of these devices too. Given that it worked fine for you and for none of us (that I am aware of), it's probably something simple to fix, like a missing library or something?
We're investigating. For the time being, consider 3.1.1 the stable release for that hardware as 3.2 is still under heavy development. TTY devices/COM ports are supposed to disappear with our direct USB implementation code in 3.2+.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:27:15 PM
 #10712

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Sorry, this is news to me. I haven't seen the posts you are talking about. Even so, the devices still don't show up on the ncurses display. Anything else that needs to be done to get them recognized?
Permissions problem potentially. Follow the same udev file procedure as documented for BFL devices in ASIC-README.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:38:04 PM
 #10713

Permissions problem potentially. Follow the same udev file procedure as documented for BFL devices in ASIC-README.

Those instructions were already followed. Still no-go.
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 646
Merit: 500


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:59:54 PM
 #10714

Nice! Thanks for your efforts....

<cut>

You are allowed to not quote everything again here...

You didn't even mention that he had top-posted.  Then again, top-posting and not trimming quotes seem to go together like gonorrhea and crabs.  Tongue

Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pool Auto-Switchers: zpool MiningPoolHub NiceHash
Bitgem Resources: Pool Explorer Paper Wallet
Blisk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 355
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 03:32:09 PM
 #10715

with the same settings version 3.1.1 I have fan speed about 2500rpm
with version 3.2.0 gpu fan speed is full 3600rpm

salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 646
Merit: 500


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 03:50:31 PM
 #10716

For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

1) hardware doesn't support it (not that I run cgminer on it, but the Core Solo in my notebook only supports x86)
2) x86 is more suitable for memory-constrained systems than amd64 (x32 is supposed to provide most of the advantages of amd64 with the smaller memory footprint of x86, but I haven't tried it yet)...my VPS is x86 for this reason

Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pool Auto-Switchers: zpool MiningPoolHub NiceHash
Bitgem Resources: Pool Explorer Paper Wallet
elchorizo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:48:58 PM
 #10717

I just can't figure out why 3.2.0 is so difficult to get working.

With 3.2.0 (using modprobe or not using modprobe) -- I get the following when running cgminer --usb-dump 0

Code:
[2013-06-04 11:46:37] Started cgminer 3.2.0
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB all: found 11 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 1 Device 8 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 1: Bus 1 Device 9 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 2: Bus 1 Device 10 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 3: Bus 1 Device 11 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 4: Bus 1 Device 5 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 5: Bus 1 Device 6 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] 6 known USB devices
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:8
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:8) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:9
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:10
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:10) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:11
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:11) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:5
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:5) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 1:6
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Icarus detect (1:6) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-04 11:46:37] Need to specify at least one pool server.

I'm running as root, so permissions aren't a problem though I've done the udev rules as well.

If I run cgminer 3.1.X I am able to get them to mine via the /dev/ttyUSBX interfaces though the problem I have there is a couple units will only show 1 or 2 accepted shares while other units will have 60... and the MH/s rating is the same on all of them and shows up in cgminer like they are all working, just some aren't producing shares... very strange.

These are Cairnsmore1's.

BTC: 1Chorizo6WNabZxVfQyGtvF4JiRt7Hexxb
LTC: Lchorizoy8ck7Arbby8LDnw5wAmi8h6Hzb
Hektek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:52:41 PM
 #10718

I currently can´t access

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer

does anyone else have this problem ?

best regards

apetersson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:56:27 PM
 #10719

same problem here - would appreciate a mirror
RogueLeader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 05:23:16 PM
 #10720

Came here to report the site/release files are down, but I see that's already been taken care of.

So instead I'll just thank the developer for this fine project.  Thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 [536] 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!