Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2018, 02:23:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 [544] 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761168 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 12:07:44 PM
 #10861

Thanks (that worked), do you know what worksize i should be using for my gpus? I've been using 128 just wondering if its worthwhile using 256? Guess I can try and then find out, but if anyone would know for sure you would? thanks again

Also if I use --temp-hysteresis 6 does that mean the fan will kick in at 6 degrees earlier?

1534731799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534731799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534731799
Reply with quote  #2

1534731799
Report to moderator
1534731799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534731799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534731799
Reply with quote  #2

1534731799
Report to moderator
1534731799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534731799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534731799
Reply with quote  #2

1534731799
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xiquanpan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:36:19 PM
 #10862

failed to reinit gpu thread 0

close the cgminer and restart cgminer it's begin ok
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:43:53 PM
 #10863

Thanks (that worked), do you know what worksize i should be using for my gpus? I've been using 128 just wondering if its worthwhile using 256? Guess I can try and then find out, but if anyone would know for sure you would? thanks again

Also if I use --temp-hysteresis 6 does that mean the fan will kick in at 6 degrees earlier?


cgminer is pretty smart.  I wouldn't set the worksize, let cgminer pick it.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 01:56:16 PM
 #10864

A few people, including myself, have reported timeouts during get details on linux. This is preventing the Jalepeno from being recognized. Increasing BFLSC_TIMEOUT from 200->999 (might not need to be that high) resolved the issue for me.
usbutils.c, non win_32 define

https://forums.butterflylabs.com/jalapeno-single-sc-support/3135-usb-communications-problems-jalapeno.html

999 means that any time anything is sent to it, it will allow a whole second for a reply.

The command you are reporting is the ZTX during initialisation.
On linux that should NOT take 200ms to reply, let alone a whole second.
Setting every command timeout to a whole second is not really a good design decision ...
Also during that timeout everything else is locked from USB access to the same device.

I'd suggest there is a hardware problem somewhere ...

... and I've not seen anyone else report this either ... you got a link to anyone else?
999 ms might not be necessary, but it definately needs to be more than 200 for some. I'll also add that Cgminer 3.2.1 on Windows did not have this issue. The first thing I tried was matching the win32 timeout. Perhaps some jalepenos are slightly defective...

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 02:50:35 PM
 #10865

Somehow my Jalapeno hashrate dropped from 5.75GH/s to about 5.55GH/s.
snip

I don't know but when I first got mine it worked at 6GH for a couple of days and then spontaneously "dropped a gear" after a move and reconnect and it's been 5.7GH ever since. I've never been able to regain that .3 either  Huh

I let the Jalapeno idle for 10 minutes and changed the USB header it was connected to. Now it's hashing at 5.75GH/s again. Thanks to KNK at BFL forums for suggesting this! But since the Jalapeno already slowed down once, I'm not so confident anymore that it will keep hashing at 5.75GH/s indefinitely without problems.

Elitehash PPS Pools: Bitcore, Gincoin, Raven
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 05:10:53 PM
 #10866

Somehow my Jalapeno hashrate dropped from 5.75GH/s to about 5.55GH/s.
snip

I don't know but when I first got mine it worked at 6GH for a couple of days and then spontaneously "dropped a gear" after a move and reconnect and it's been 5.7GH ever since. I've never been able to regain that .3 either  Huh

I let the Jalapeno idle for 10 minutes and changed the USB header it was connected to. Now it's hashing at 5.75GH/s again. Thanks to KNK at BFL forums for suggesting this! But since the Jalapeno already slowed down once, I'm not so confident anymore that it will keep hashing at 5.75GH/s indefinitely without problems.

Good info, please let us know if you need to do this on a regular basis and how often.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 06:09:58 PM
 #10867

And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...

Has your WU: increased as well?
Yes. It is exactly what it needs to be...

EDIT: about 2 more... Running now 36.8 before that it was 34.8 to 34.7...
ndr76
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 06:45:43 PM
 #10868

I have a problem with cgminer on my AsicMiner usb erupter.
3.1.1 works fine, but 3.2.1 gives me this never ending series of errors:

[2013-06-08 19:38:12] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
[2013-06-08 19:38:12] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-08 19:38:17] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
 [2013-06-08 19:38:17] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-08 19:38:22] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
 [2013-06-08 19:38:22] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
.....

The only usb connected mining hardware is the AsicMiner usb Erupter.
I set the same permissions on both 3.1.1 and 3.2.1:

-rwxr-sr-x 1 andrea dialout  304853 May 24 09:46 cgminer-3.1.1/cgminer
-rwxr-sr-x 1 andrea dialout 1160140 Jun  8 19:35 cgminer-3.2.1/cgminer

Running debian 7.0.

cgminer compiled with ./configure --enable-icarus --enable-bflsc --disable-opencl

------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.2.1
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lncurses
  OpenCL...............: Detection overrided. GPU mining support DISABLED
  scrypt...............: Disabled (needs OpenCL)
  ADL..................: SDK NOT found, GPU monitoring support DISABLED

  Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BFL.ASICs............: Enabled
  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Enabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Ztex.FPGAs...........: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -g -O2 -I/usr/include/libusb-1.0  
  LDFLAGS..............:  -lpthread
  LDADD................:  -lcurl   -ljansson -lpthread     -lm -lusb-1.0  

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'sudo')
  prefix...............: /usr/local
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 07:02:45 PM
 #10869

I'm probably just gonna be referred to a README that i read and forgot, but i'll ask anyway. Is there anyplace where all the abreviations on the terminal output are explained?

Also, I'm running, 3.1.1 with ASICminer Eruptors. So i understand that i'll get hardware errors occasionally, i'm curious why it reports the error as a bad nounce? i thought a nounce was just a number.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 07:04:05 PM
 #10870

I have a problem with cgminer on my AsicMiner usb erupter.
3.1.1 works fine, but 3.2.1 gives me this never ending series of errors:

[2013-06-08 19:38:12] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
[2013-06-08 19:38:12] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-08 19:38:17] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
 [2013-06-08 19:38:17] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-08 19:38:22] USB init open device failed, err -3, you dont have priviledge to access - AMU device 1:9
 [2013-06-08 19:38:22] Icarus detect (1:9) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
.....

The only usb connected mining hardware is the AsicMiner usb Erupter.
I set the same permissions on both 3.1.1 and 3.2.1:

-rwxr-sr-x 1 andrea dialout  304853 May 24 09:46 cgminer-3.1.1/cgminer
-rwxr-sr-x 1 andrea dialout 1160140 Jun  8 19:35 cgminer-3.2.1/cgminer

Running debian 7.0.


copy the 01-cgminer.rules into /etc/udev/rules.d/ and restart udev.
the permission of the cgminer executable doesnt make any difference

Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1016


Christian Antkow


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 07:55:19 PM
 #10871

What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

FWIW, I would say just stick with this one thread and update the OP with a link to the latest notes ITT.

Seeing a thread with 545 pages commands a certain degree of respect and gravitas, with respect to this project. Afraid making a post for each release would fragment things further.
ndr76
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:01:07 PM
 #10872

That fixed it thanks!  Grin

How to fix it with Debian 7.0:
sudo cp cgminer-3.2.1/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo service udev restart

Now unplug and plug again the usb erupter.
Restart cgminer and it should work.

copy the 01-cgminer.rules into /etc/udev/rules.d/ and restart udev.
the permission of the cgminer executable doesnt make any difference
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:02:26 PM
 #10873

Thanks (that worked), do you know what worksize i should be using for my gpus? I've been using 128 just wondering if its worthwhile using 256? Guess I can try and then find out, but if anyone would know for sure you would? thanks again

Also if I use --temp-hysteresis 6 does that mean the fan will kick in at 6 degrees earlier?


cgminer is pretty smart.  I wouldn't set the worksize, let cgminer pick it.

M

no worries, why do people then specify worksize? on the wiki I see 128 and 256 being used.. whats the benefit?

ndr76
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 08:18:06 PM
 #10874

Also, I'm running, 3.1.1 with ASICminer Eruptors. So i understand that i'll get hardware errors occasionally, i'm curious why it reports the error as a bad nounce? i thought a nounce was just a number.

The nounce is the number that has to be added to the rest of the data in order to obtain a hash that satisfies the difficulty by being smaller than a certain value.
So what happens is that a mining device would report that the hash of a given nounce+data satisfies the difficulty when in fact it doesn't because the computed hash is wrong due to an hw error.
So I think what is bad is the hash computed by the miner. This in turn would cause the nounce being tried "bad" (generating a hash that does not satisfy the difficulty).
Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
I think it's just a matter of how the error message has been phrased.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1839
Merit: 1057


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:28:35 PM
 #10875


What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

keep it simple. one thread.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:07:46 PM
 #10876

And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...

Has your WU: increased as well?
Yes. It is exactly what it needs to be...

EDIT: about 2 more... Running now 36.8 before that it was 34.8 to 34.7...

Sounds about right to me too.  Kudos on an imaginative solution/workaround.

Still don't know what your original problem was though.  That wouldn't be giving me a warm fuzzy feeling.
Good Luck,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:16:36 PM
 #10877

I'm probably just gonna be referred to a README that i read and forgot, but i'll ask anyway. Is there anyplace where all the abreviations on the terminal output are explained?

Yep, its in the readme's and/or the Top Post of this thread.

--------------------------------------From Top Post-------------------------
The output line shows the following:
(5s):1713.6 (avg):1707.8 Mh/s | Q:301  A:729  R:8  HW:0  E:242%  U:22.53/m

Each column is as follows:
5s:  A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
avg: An all time average hash rate
Q:   The number of requested (Queued) work items from the pools
A:   The number of Accepted shares
R:   The number of Rejected shares
HW:  The number of HardWare errors
E:   The Efficiency defined as number of shares returned / work item
U:   The Utility defined as the number of shares / minute

 GPU 1: 73.5C 2551RPM | 427.3/443.0Mh/s | A:8 R:0 HW:0 U:4.39/m

Each column is as follows:
Temperature (if supported)
Fanspeed (if supported)
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

The cgminer status line shows:
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 8  GF: 1  RF: 1

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:20:03 PM
 #10878


What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

keep it simple. one thread.

Yeah, one thread. Unless you were going to move towards a Wiki based system, like Redmine or similar, it could also incorporate bug tracking. I know there is github, but something more non-dev friendly. I find 500+ pages hard to extract useful data, it's a mess. Something structured would most likely cut down on the majority the repetitive questions that were answered 3-4 pages back. Instead of telling everyone to read the README, you tell them to read the WiKi.  Cheesy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 10:32:24 PM
 #10879

What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

FWIW, I would say just stick with this one thread and update the OP with a link to the latest notes ITT.

Seeing a thread with 545 pages commands a certain degree of respect and gravitas, with respect to this project. Afraid making a post for each release would fragment things further.
Thanks, that's precisely what I do. The top thread always points to the announce for the latest release, and I do go to great pains to write human readable changelogs so people can see what has changed, but that does not give the full history. I certainly don't have the time to maintain a wiki.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:40:40 PM
 #10880

I'm probably just gonna be referred to a README that i read and forgot, but i'll ask anyway. Is there anyplace where all the abreviations on the terminal output are explained?

Yep, its in the readme's and/or the Top Post of this thread.

--------------------------------------From Top Post-------------------------
The output line shows the following:
(5s):1713.6 (avg):1707.8 Mh/s | Q:301  A:729  R:8  HW:0  E:242%  U:22.53/m

Each column is as follows:
5s:  A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
avg: An all time average hash rate
Q:   The number of requested (Queued) work items from the pools
A:   The number of Accepted shares
R:   The number of Rejected shares
HW:  The number of HardWare errors
E:   The Efficiency defined as number of shares returned / work item
U:   The Utility defined as the number of shares / minute

 GPU 1: 73.5C 2551RPM | 427.3/443.0Mh/s | A:8 R:0 HW:0 U:4.39/m

Each column is as follows:
Temperature (if supported)
Fanspeed (if supported)
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

The cgminer status line shows:
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 8  GF: 1  RF: 1

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

Thank you good sir.
Pages: « 1 ... 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 [544] 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!