Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 02:26:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 [546] 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827740 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 10:05:21 AM
 #10901

3.1.1 and 3.2.1 are running my i5-3350P at 80% CPU.  3 GPUs (7850, 7950, 6970).  Eventually locks up the machine, solid.  Was OK with 2.11.4.  Running 7x64 with 12.8 drivers.
That's driver and sdk related, nothing to do with cgminer - it caches bin files generated the first time you run it and will run the same ever more on that cgminer even if you change drivers, so you almost certainly changed drivers between cgminer versions.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481423201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423201
Reply with quote  #2

1481423201
Report to moderator
1481423201
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481423201

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481423201
Reply with quote  #2

1481423201
Report to moderator
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:08:33 AM
 #10902

3.1.1 and 3.2.1 are running my i5-3350P at 80% CPU.  3 GPUs (7850, 7950, 6970).  Eventually locks up the machine, solid.  Was OK with 2.11.4.  Running 7x64 with 12.8 drivers.
That's driver and sdk related, nothing to do with cgminer - it caches bin files generated the first time you run it and will run the same ever more on that cgminer even if you change drivers, so you almost certainly changed drivers between cgminer versions.

It's a fresh install yesterday.    Fresh install of drivers, Windows updated.  Just copied my cgminer.conf in to a freshly extracted cgminer archive.  New .bins are generated.

Do you still think it's drivers?  The 12.8 drivers worked OK before reinstall (was running an AMD chip before).
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:13:33 AM
 #10903

3.1.1 and 3.2.1 are running my i5-3350P at 80% CPU.  3 GPUs (7850, 7950, 6970).  Eventually locks up the machine, solid.  Was OK with 2.11.4.  Running 7x64 with 12.8 drivers.
That's driver and sdk related, nothing to do with cgminer - it caches bin files generated the first time you run it and will run the same ever more on that cgminer even if you change drivers, so you almost certainly changed drivers between cgminer versions.

It's a fresh install yesterday.    Fresh install of drivers, Windows updated.  Just copied my cgminer.conf in to a freshly extracted cgminer archive.  New .bins are generated.

Do you still think it's drivers?  The 12.8 drivers worked OK before reinstall (was running an AMD chip before).

Yeah, I do.

Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine? Were 7000 cards even out when 12.8 was released? Did you ever consider that you are using drivers that were never intended for that card? Have you also considered that it is why they have released newer drivers? To fix issues?

I have a core2duo 1.8ghz running 3x 7950s with no CPU usage issues. 13.4. Then I ditched windows 7 for Ubuntu and got even more hashes. Used 13.4 there too.

Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:14:58 AM
 #10904

hey guys

I have 3 gpus in my system 1 apu and 2 dedicated gpus, how can i startup cgminer with the third gpu (gpu 2) turned off? I tried setting intensity to 0 but that doesn't work.

Do I specify it via the -d switch? If so what is the syntax?

Thanks
-d 0-1 --remove-disabled

this tell cgminer, to use only the first two and remove the third, right?

streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:15:23 AM
 #10905

12.8 = august 2012.... so yes. 7xxx cards where already out at that time...
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:22:04 AM
 #10906

12.8 = august 2012.... so yes. 7xxx cards where already out at that time...

Why don't you at least try 13.4? They release later drivers for a reason.

There is also a good AMD removal tool on their site to clear old drivers. I suggest you run that before installing updated drivers to eliminate any other issues.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:23:08 AM
 #10907


Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine?


cgminer just crashes under 13.4 - I've wiped and reinstalled Windows a couple of times trying this. 12.10 is the same.  13.2 is the same.  12.8 is the only one I can (could) get to run reliably.

With anything but 12.8 cgminer craps out on initial start (about then it builds the .bin files).

I must be missing something - I'm running a fresh 7x64 install, Windows updated, ATI drivers, cgminer.  Nothing else.  

Board is an Asus P8B WS (C206 chipset), i5-3350P@defualt speed, 12GB DDR3-1600 RAM, Asus HD7850, Gigabyte HD7950, Sapphire HD6970.

These three cards worked OK on a SABERTOOTH 990FX with a FX8320@4.4GHz, but I changed to bring power consumption down (the AMD chip and board were using ~100W more at the wall than the Intel setup).

If I can't get this working I think I'll have to go back to the AMD.  But I want to see if there's something strange with cgminer, and maybe help bug hunt before I nuke this install?
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:23:48 AM
 #10908

12.8 = august 2012.... so yes. 7xxx cards where already out at that time...

Why don't you at least try 13.4? They release later drivers for a reason.

There is also a good AMD removal tool on their site to clear old drivers. I suggest you run that before installing updated drivers to eliminate any other issues.

well i use AMD-APP-SDK-v2.7-lnx32.tar on my 7870...
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:33:19 AM
 #10909

Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine? Were 7000 cards even out when 12.8 was released? Did you ever consider that you are using drivers that were never intended for that card? Have you also considered that it is why they have released newer drivers? To fix issues?

Actually 7xxx cards are supported since 11.12 (8.921) drivers.
Also AMD interest is in fixing gaming issues.

A newer driver could be better at gaming, but not necessarily at mining.
In fact, older drivers = better drivers.
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:48:52 AM
 #10910

Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine? Were 7000 cards even out when 12.8 was released? Did you ever consider that you are using drivers that were never intended for that card? Have you also considered that it is why they have released newer drivers? To fix issues?

Actually 7xxx cards are supported since 11.12 (8.921) drivers.
Also AMD interest is in fixing gaming issues.

A newer driver could be better at gaming, but not necessarily at mining.
In fact, older drivers = better drivers.

Maybe try Linux? It's so easy.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:54:34 AM
 #10911

My machine is also my workstation, and I need Windows.  It worked before on Win7 - it's why it now doesn't that's making my mind boggle. 
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:56:57 AM
 #10912

Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine? Were 7000 cards even out when 12.8 was released? Did you ever consider that you are using drivers that were never intended for that card? Have you also considered that it is why they have released newer drivers? To fix issues?

Actually 7xxx cards are supported since 11.12 (8.921) drivers.
Also AMD interest is in fixing gaming issues.

A newer driver could be better at gaming, but not necessarily at mining.
In fact, older drivers = better drivers.

Maybe try Linux? It's so easy.

I am on the friggin Linux since 2000.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 10:59:18 AM
 #10913

You sure you have the opencl sdk?

My machine is also my workstation, and I need Windows.  It worked before on Win7 - it's why it now doesn't that's making my mind boggle. 

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 11:03:39 AM
 #10914

It's weird because I ran 13.4 no problems what so ever. But on a shittier mainboard.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 11:31:57 AM
 #10915

You sure you have the opencl sdk?

My machine is also my workstation, and I need Windows.  It worked before on Win7 - it's why it now doesn't that's making my mind boggle. 

Surely if I didn't have the SDK, it wouldn't run at all?  I've never needed to install anything other than the drivers in the past. 

It runs for a few minutes at high CPU, then the machine locks up solid.  Yet it'll run Furmark for hours with no issues...

I'm going to blow this 7 install away and stick 8 on, see if that helps. 
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:03:53 PM
 #10916

Question ... ?
Is anyone having problems with cgminer 3.2.1 Icarus mining (Icarus, Lancelot or Erupter only) on anything OTHER than the RPi?
I seem to have narrowed it down to possibly being a timer bug (happening inside libusb - so possibly a kernel problem)
And if you are NOT having problems with 3.2.1 on RPi, could you tell me your kernel version?
with uname -a
Thanks!

Edit: and not using USB 3.0 Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
maxpower
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:36:45 PM
 #10917

Question ... ?
Is anyone having problems with cgminer 3.2.1 Icarus mining (Icarus, Lancelot or Erupter only) on anything OTHER than the RPi?
I seem to have narrowed it down to possibly being a timer bug (happening inside libusb - so possibly a kernel problem)
And if you are NOT having problems with 3.2.1 on RPi, could you tell me your kernel version?
with uname -a
Thanks!

I'm having problems with Erupters being constantly zombified and redetected (every 15 seconds or so) on a fairly modern Intel Atom "nettop" running Ubuntu 12.04 and a 3.x kernel, with cgminer 3.2.1. It may be USB 3.0 related, since I'm using an Anker hub, but the computer does have USB 3.0 support. Everything works fine under cgminer 3.1.1.

EDIT: Kernel version is 3.2.0-45-generic #70-Ubuntu SMP, 64-bit, to be exact.

Mac Altcoin Wallets: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=216672 | Rep Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=205035.0
BTC: 13wuRW8v1PtZrbKKrBfT5JcuiCwpMqpCmY
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:38:14 PM
 #10918

Question ... ?
Is anyone having problems with cgminer 3.2.1 Icarus mining (Icarus, Lancelot or Erupter only) on anything OTHER than the RPi?
I seem to have narrowed it down to possibly being a timer bug (happening inside libusb - so possibly a kernel problem)
And if you are NOT having problems with 3.2.1 on RPi, could you tell me your kernel version?
with uname -a
Thanks!

Edit: and not using USB 3.0 Smiley

I'm having problems with Erupters being constantly zombified and redetected (every 15 seconds or so) on a fairly modern Intel Atom "nettop" running Ubuntu 12.04 and a 3.x kernel, with cgminer 3.2.1. It may be USB 3.0 related, since I'm using an Anker hub, but the computer does have USB 3.0 support. Everything works fine under cgminer 3.1.1.
Heh OK - I'll edit my post to say ... and not using USB 3.0 Cheesy
Thanks - yeah USB 3.0 is still awaiting attention.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 898

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:51:52 PM
 #10919

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i7-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

I'm seeing about 60% on each of two cores. But the cpu is only runniing at 1Ghz so i don't expect much from it. running 4 erupters and a Radian 6570 GPU.

Im at 3 % on a pentium 4 3.0Ghz single core, with a 5830, bfl fpga single and a bfl jalapeno. cgminer 3.2.0, win xp.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 01:03:17 PM
 #10920

Why would you run 12.8 when 13.4 works perfectly fine? Were 7000 cards even out when 12.8 was released? Did you ever consider that you are using drivers that were never intended for that card? Have you also considered that it is why they have released newer drivers? To fix issues?

Actually 7xxx cards are supported since 11.12 (8.921) drivers.
Also AMD interest is in fixing gaming issues.

A newer driver could be better at gaming, but not necessarily at mining.
In fact, older drivers = better drivers.

Maybe try Linux? It's so easy.

Um.. your mileage may vary.  I spent a day trying to get linux to do what I can do in windows in an hour, and gave up.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Pages: « 1 ... 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 [546] 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!