Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:39:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 [545] 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4821071 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 09:28:35 PM
 #10881


What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

keep it simple. one thread.
1481107171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107171
Reply with quote  #2

1481107171
Report to moderator
1481107171
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107171

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107171
Reply with quote  #2

1481107171
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:07:46 PM
 #10882

And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...

Has your WU: increased as well?
Yes. It is exactly what it needs to be...

EDIT: about 2 more... Running now 36.8 before that it was 34.8 to 34.7...

Sounds about right to me too.  Kudos on an imaginative solution/workaround.

Still don't know what your original problem was though.  That wouldn't be giving me a warm fuzzy feeling.
Good Luck,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:16:36 PM
 #10883

I'm probably just gonna be referred to a README that i read and forgot, but i'll ask anyway. Is there anyplace where all the abreviations on the terminal output are explained?

Yep, its in the readme's and/or the Top Post of this thread.

--------------------------------------From Top Post-------------------------
The output line shows the following:
(5s):1713.6 (avg):1707.8 Mh/s | Q:301  A:729  R:8  HW:0  E:242%  U:22.53/m

Each column is as follows:
5s:  A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
avg: An all time average hash rate
Q:   The number of requested (Queued) work items from the pools
A:   The number of Accepted shares
R:   The number of Rejected shares
HW:  The number of HardWare errors
E:   The Efficiency defined as number of shares returned / work item
U:   The Utility defined as the number of shares / minute

 GPU 1: 73.5C 2551RPM | 427.3/443.0Mh/s | A:8 R:0 HW:0 U:4.39/m

Each column is as follows:
Temperature (if supported)
Fanspeed (if supported)
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

The cgminer status line shows:
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 8  GF: 1  RF: 1

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:20:03 PM
 #10884


What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

keep it simple. one thread.

Yeah, one thread. Unless you were going to move towards a Wiki based system, like Redmine or similar, it could also incorporate bug tracking. I know there is github, but something more non-dev friendly. I find 500+ pages hard to extract useful data, it's a mess. Something structured would most likely cut down on the majority the repetitive questions that were answered 3-4 pages back. Instead of telling everyone to read the README, you tell them to read the WiKi.  Cheesy
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2013, 10:32:24 PM
 #10885

What do other people think about having multiple forum threads?

FWIW, I would say just stick with this one thread and update the OP with a link to the latest notes ITT.

Seeing a thread with 545 pages commands a certain degree of respect and gravitas, with respect to this project. Afraid making a post for each release would fragment things further.
Thanks, that's precisely what I do. The top thread always points to the announce for the latest release, and I do go to great pains to write human readable changelogs so people can see what has changed, but that does not give the full history. I certainly don't have the time to maintain a wiki.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 08, 2013, 10:40:40 PM
 #10886

I'm probably just gonna be referred to a README that i read and forgot, but i'll ask anyway. Is there anyplace where all the abreviations on the terminal output are explained?

Yep, its in the readme's and/or the Top Post of this thread.

--------------------------------------From Top Post-------------------------
The output line shows the following:
(5s):1713.6 (avg):1707.8 Mh/s | Q:301  A:729  R:8  HW:0  E:242%  U:22.53/m

Each column is as follows:
5s:  A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
avg: An all time average hash rate
Q:   The number of requested (Queued) work items from the pools
A:   The number of Accepted shares
R:   The number of Rejected shares
HW:  The number of HardWare errors
E:   The Efficiency defined as number of shares returned / work item
U:   The Utility defined as the number of shares / minute

 GPU 1: 73.5C 2551RPM | 427.3/443.0Mh/s | A:8 R:0 HW:0 U:4.39/m

Each column is as follows:
Temperature (if supported)
Fanspeed (if supported)
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

The cgminer status line shows:
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 8  GF: 1  RF: 1

TQ is Total Queued work items.
ST is STaged work items (ready to use).
SS is Stale Shares discarded (detected and not submitted so don't count as rejects)
DW is Discarded Work items (work from block no longer valid to work on)
NB is New Blocks detected on the network
LW is Locally generated Work items
GF is Getwork Fail Occasions (server slow to provide work)
RF is Remote Fail occasions (server slow to accept work)

Thank you good sir.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
bb000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:08:02 AM
 #10887

Trying version 3.2.1 for a new Asicminer USB with Windows 7 x64, cgminer crashes with segmentation fault when I enable debug output. With debug output turned off it runs for about a minute, but keeps failing with AMU0: Comms error (rerr=-9 amt=0)
...
Version 3.1.1 still remains the most stable release for your hardware, but bear in mind you will need to use zadig to re-associate the device with the ftdi driver instead of WinUSB when you go back to it. 3.2.0 did not work at all for AMU devices so if you're trying the new code, use 3.2.1. 3.2.1a is just a binary built for older versions of ubuntu and no different to 3.2.1.

Compiling it yourself will not make it more stable as my builds should be optimal - the only advantage to building yourself is you can build a stripped down version containing support only for the hardware you want to use, and assuming you're on windows, compiling it is FAR from trivial.

Version 3.1.1 worked fine, but I went ahead and compiled it anyway out of interest. The segfault is from libpdcurses when writing    applog(LOG_NOTICE, "Probing for an alive pool");
It might be specific to windows. I left a stacktrace on http://pastebin.com/5eMb5dsf

About having seperate threads - I agree it doesn't make sense to start new ones if it means you have to monitor them all. A bug tracker may be easier to work with than forum threads though.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 12:11:24 AM
 #10888

Trying version 3.2.1 for a new Asicminer USB with Windows 7 x64, cgminer crashes with segmentation fault when I enable debug output. With debug output turned off it runs for about a minute, but keeps failing with AMU0: Comms error (rerr=-9 amt=0)
...
Version 3.1.1 still remains the most stable release for your hardware, but bear in mind you will need to use zadig to re-associate the device with the ftdi driver instead of WinUSB when you go back to it. 3.2.0 did not work at all for AMU devices so if you're trying the new code, use 3.2.1. 3.2.1a is just a binary built for older versions of ubuntu and no different to 3.2.1.

Compiling it yourself will not make it more stable as my builds should be optimal - the only advantage to building yourself is you can build a stripped down version containing support only for the hardware you want to use, and assuming you're on windows, compiling it is FAR from trivial.

Version 3.1.1 worked fine, but I went ahead and compiled it anyway out of interest. The segfault is from libpdcurses when writing    applog(LOG_NOTICE, "Probing for an alive pool");
It might be specific to windows. I left a stacktrace on http://pastebin.com/5eMb5dsf

About having seperate threads - I agree it doesn't make sense to start new ones if it means you have to monitor them all. A bug tracker may be easier to work with than forum threads though.


Thanks. There's a pdcurses bug where it crashes if ap is null. ncurses on linux does not have this problem. Should be fixed in the next version. Disabling the curses interface will avoid it (-T)

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 12:56:03 AM
 #10889

i used 3.2.1 but didn't recognize the usb asicminers. Perhaps because i use a usb 3.0 hub ?
Yeah that was going to be the next thing to sort out, USB 3.0

But there is still another AMU problem I'm looking at first - 'SICK' on the RPi that I get also - looking into it ...
I'd not tried the RPi due to the fact that for me, linux crashes when I plug my powered hub with the AMU into my RPi Tongue
Though I found last night I can plug in the hub first then the AMU and it doesn't.
(Probably the hubs fault, but it works OK now if I order it the right way, and 3.1.1a works also ... so I can reproduce the problem ...)
I can send you an anker 10-port USB 3.0 hub if it will help you track this down faster... I'd like to switch away from 3.1.1 but can't just yet...
PM me if interested.

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
GuiltySpark343
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 01:53:49 AM
 #10890

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i5-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
Ƀ:17wbDetEw2aESM5oWXbm5ih9NSdDruyWNT
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 01:55:06 AM
 #10891

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i7-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.
Hence why we have direct USB in the new code... it uses a lot less CPU because the ftdi driver is very inefficient.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
GuiltySpark343
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 02:06:53 AM
 #10892

Agreed, but is 3.2.1 working reliably with the USB Block Erupter under Win7 yet?

I don't know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
Ƀ:17wbDetEw2aESM5oWXbm5ih9NSdDruyWNT
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 02:09:12 AM
 #10893

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i7-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

I'm seeing about 60% on each of two cores. But the cpu is only runniing at 1Ghz so i don't expect much from it. running 4 erupters and a Radian 6570 GPU.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 02:53:13 AM
 #10894

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i7-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

I'm seeing about 60% on each of two cores. But the cpu is only runniing at 1Ghz so i don't expect much from it. running 4 erupters and a Radian 6570 GPU.

1Ghz Dual Core? never heard of such a thing.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 03:21:27 AM
 #10895

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i7-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

I'm seeing about 60% on each of two cores. But the cpu is only runniing at 1Ghz so i don't expect much from it. running 4 erupters and a Radian 6570 GPU.

1Ghz Dual Core? never heard of such a thing.

I only got 10Mh/s out of the on board GPU so i put a small video card in the PCIe slot. getting a whopping 85Mh/s on the video card now. heh.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007ZT1FAI/ref=oh_details_o05_s01_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
CommanderVenus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


Zoinks! Its the Miner Miner Forty-Niner!


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 05:07:14 AM
 #10896

cgminer 3.2.1 is working wonderfully with my block erupter! I notice that my hardware failure is actually much lower with this version. This is a screenshot of cgminer with an uptime of about 1 day 2 hours 35 minutes.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/h0cen93laqkyh3e/cgminer3.2.1.png

BTC: 1VenusEubcLC9W7ykckHbdEzo5MVhPmCb - NXT: 15182624396855992605
DOGE: DFSd16bvB7H2HieZNAjPhBoCwZpmNujN9B - BTQ: 14b2QFPwFtBC3tcRW9F61aaRXP2ns3fh1m
Paladin69
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 05:59:20 AM
 #10897

Hi,

I haven't upgraded since 2.10.4  The latest version is very different.  fpgaonly.exe is now replaced by nogpus.exe, I guess?  The way you start the COM's must be different or something?  Getting errors and nothing wants to start.

I used to type this...

cgminer-fpgaonly.exe -o http://www.xxx.com:port -u user_worker -p pass -S bitforce:\\.\COM3 -S bitforce:\\.\COM4 -S bitforce:\\.\COM5 -S bitforce:\\.\COM6 -S bitforce:\\.\COM7 -S bitforce:\\.\COM8 -S bitforce:\\.\COM9 -S bitforce:\\.\COM10 -S bitforce:\\.\COM11 -S bitforce:\\.\COM12 -S bitforce:\\.\COM13 -S bitforce:\\.\COM14 -S bitforce:\\.\COM15 -S bitforce:\\.\COM16 -S bitforce:\\.\COM17 -S bitforce:\\.\COM18 -S bitforce:\\.\COM19 -S bitforce:\\.\COM20 -S bitforce:\\.\COM21 -S noauto

Sorry the help files are just a sea of words to me.  Can somebody look at the string above and tell me what to modify?  This is for Windows.
With 3.1.1 Switch the driver with zadig and remove every -S except the last one (-S noauto)
... read README, FPGA-README

Are you sure -S noauto at the end is all I need?  Remember the linux version is different from windows.  Windows required me to input all those COM's one at a time.

Also, could somebody possibly just help me with the command lines on what to type?  You say switch to the zadig driver, but the README is really confusing to me.  95% of what is talked about in there I'm sure doesn't relate to me.
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150



View Profile
June 09, 2013, 09:48:22 AM
 #10898

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i5-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

http://pastebin.com/HUhNYA6g

96.3% idle at 800MHz cpu usage...
glowkeeper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 09, 2013, 09:54:13 AM
 #10899

What level of CPU usage are people getting using CGMiner 3.1.1?

I've got a Win7 x64 setup with a Core i5-3570k and getting about 25% CPU usage, hashing with just one USB Block Erupter.

http://pastebin.com/HUhNYA6g

96.3% idle at 800MHz cpu usage...

3% on a raspberry pi

Running 9 x cairnsmore fpga's via a couple of USB hubs.....
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
June 09, 2013, 10:02:48 AM
 #10900

3.1.1 and 3.2.1 are running my i5-3350P at 80% CPU.  3 GPUs (7850, 7950, 6970).  Eventually locks up the machine, solid.  Was OK with 2.11.4.  Running 7x64 with 12.8 drivers.
Pages: « 1 ... 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 [545] 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!