Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:06:14 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 [541] 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824274 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:50:09 AM
 #10801

+1 for USB Block Erupter support  Grin

1481263574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263574
Reply with quote  #2

1481263574
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263574
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263574

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263574
Reply with quote  #2

1481263574
Report to moderator
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:21:37 AM
 #10802

It's still the answer.
I'm not mining LTC... So SCRYPT-README doesn't apply or am I missing something? And I don't have GPU-README. I have README and I have read it. I can't find anything. Did I miss something in it? I just glance over it again. Can't find anything relevant. The only think that might apply is RAM but I have enough of it RAM. More then 1 GB still free...

EDIT: And why do I get negative intensity if I put all in dynamic and one to setting over 9. It sounds to me like a bug...
So you're mining BTC? Your problem is high cpu, right? So your hardware, along with your settings, and your driver combination are causing it. If you cpu usage is high overall, a dynamic device will be cranked right down into potentially negative levels. Stop trying to go to -I 9 with that many devices. Your bus is likely overloaded.
Doesn't seem likely. As I wrote in EDIT. It was ccc.exe. Uninstall it and now is less then 50%. If I disable 50% of devices I still get same(I got the idea of running 2 cgminers)... And I can still LTC mine without hash penalty on CPU. So that also points that CPU is not a problem... I'm not sure how can I test BUS but if taking off or disabling the devices doesn't work... But will look into that...
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 09:23:14 AM
 #10803

hey guys

I have 3 gpus in my system 1 apu and 2 dedicated gpus, how can i startup cgminer with the third gpu (gpu 2) turned off? I tried setting intensity to 0 but that doesn't work.

Do I specify it via the -d switch? If so what is the syntax?

Thanks

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 09:27:25 AM
 #10804

hey guys

I have 3 gpus in my system 1 apu and 2 dedicated gpus, how can i startup cgminer with the third gpu (gpu 2) turned off? I tried setting intensity to 0 but that doesn't work.

Do I specify it via the -d switch? If so what is the syntax?

Thanks
-d 0-1 --remove-disabled

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:03:07 AM
 #10805

+1 for USB Block Erupter support  Grin
Yeah funny thing about that Smiley
3.1.1 of course worked as serial-USB, the new USB version I put in 3.2.0 worked ... almost only for me Tongue

My Fedora desktop seems to auto initialise the UART in the AMU, no matter what, when it is plugged in - but other systems don't it seems.
Fortunately I found a cause and fixed it for 3.2.1

Though I will add, anyone who has a few of them and uses them could they report how it's going?
Thanks.

OK this time I will make a set of 3.2.1a ... out shortly.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:04:38 AM
 #10806

Doesn't seem likely. As I wrote in EDIT. It was ccc.exe. Uninstall it and now is less then 50%. If I disable 50% of devices I still get same(I got the idea of running 2 cgminers)... And I can still LTC mine without hash penalty on CPU. So that also points that CPU is not a problem... I'm not sure how can I test BUS but if taking off or disabling the devices doesn't work... But will look into that...
No one seems to have pointed out that you are running Windows.  I'm pretty sure it was mentioned two or three hundred pages ago that you really can't go to higher intensity levels on Windows without CPU usage.  Moreover, it sounds like you're running a really old version if you only have one README file as you mentioned a page or two back.  You've been told not to use -I 9 or higher for sha256 mining like 3 times now.  Don't do it.  When you decide to scrypt mine, which you seemed to imply you would at some point, you can try again, the -I levels are totally different for scrypt.
CumpsD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:34:27 AM
 #10807

+1 for USB Block Erupter support  Grin
Yeah funny thing about that Smiley
3.1.1 of course worked as serial-USB, the new USB version I put in 3.2.0 worked ... almost only for me Tongue

My Fedora desktop seems to auto initialise the UART in the AMU, no matter what, when it is plugged in - but other systems don't it seems.
Fortunately I found a cause and fixed it for 3.2.1

Though I will add, anyone who has a few of them and uses them could they report how it's going?
Thanks.

OK this time I will make a set of 3.2.1a ... out shortly.

I'll test the Block Erupter this weekend if I manage the time. Currently running 8 of them on 3.1.1 without problems
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:42:18 AM
 #10808

Doesn't seem likely. As I wrote in EDIT. It was ccc.exe. Uninstall it and now is less then 50%. If I disable 50% of devices I still get same(I got the idea of running 2 cgminers)... And I can still LTC mine without hash penalty on CPU. So that also points that CPU is not a problem... I'm not sure how can I test BUS but if taking off or disabling the devices doesn't work... But will look into that...
No one seems to have pointed out that you are running Windows.  I'm pretty sure it was mentioned two or three hundred pages ago that you really can't go to higher intensity levels on Windows without CPU usage.  Moreover, it sounds like you're running a really old version if you only have one README file as you mentioned a page or two back.  You've been told not to use -I 9 or higher for sha256 mining like 3 times now.  Don't do it.  When you decide to scrypt mine, which you seemed to imply you would at some point, you can try again, the -I levels are totally different for scrypt.
Running windows was in original post and copy pasted... And it is recommended not to go but you can go over 9 for some cards it is recommended 11. If it helps you imagine I will go only to 9 what is currently not possible so please tell me how to do that. I have enough CPU power left. Over 50%. I'm running 2.11.4. But same problem is with 3.2.0 and 3.1.1 so I really see no point in that. 3.x version gives me disconnects from my pool. So if you have any suggestion please tell me if not then this is pointless.

EDIT: all in the original post and copy pasted...

EDIT2: or of you have a idea how to test BUS usage...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 11:44:46 AM
 #10809

3.2.1a
3.2.1 recompiled on 64 bit Fedora18, 64 bit xubuntu 11.04 and also on the RPi 32 (2012-12-16-wheezy-raspbian and rpi-update)

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries

To get the 64 bit xubuntu 11.04 binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Ubuntu_11.04_x86_64/cgminer-3.2.1a
chmod +x cgminer-3.2.1a
md5sum cgminer-3.2.1a

7586842d5038b370c3e69f28ca58aa0d  cgminer-3.2.1a
(this version should also work on Fedora 16 and Fedora 17)

To get the RPi 32bit binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/RPi_32/cgminer-3.2.1a
chmod +x cgminer-3.2.1a
md5sum cgminer-3.2.1a

8b18c3df057e144616ac5d096941f124  cgminer-3.2.1a

To get the Fedora 18 binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Fedora18_x86_64/cgminer-3.2.1a
chmod +x cgminer-3.2.1a
md5sum cgminer-3.2.1a

d8f67d916aa00d1cc34967e234b68ef0  cgminer-3.2.1a

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
On xubuntu 11.04 - first get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

I've run all three binaries without any problems so far, with 1x6950, 1xJalapeno, 1xAMU, 1xBLT, 1xBFL, 1xICA, 1xMMQ (Total ~8.6GH/s)

All have been built with -g
The -g (instead of -O2) means it's a debug build so if anyone finds a problem and has core dumps enabled, it will dump a much more useful debug core.

Otherwise, the same configure options as cvolivas' binary version for 64 bit xubuntu 11.04
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon --enable-scrypt
make clean
make


All USBs (only) for the RPi 32bit version
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon
make clean
make

You will need to install libusb-1.0.0

All USBs (only) for the Fedora18 x86_64 version
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon
make clean
make

You will need to install libusb-1.0.0


Note I have binary folders of ckolivas official release files in my binaries git also, for if you can't get to his downloads
To get them you select the folder (e.g. 3.2.1) then click on the file you want then right-click save-as "View Raw"


Important: Read ASIC-README or FPGA-README about USB configuration on linux and windows

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
daemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 12:03:55 PM
 #10810

In my previous post I described the problem.
This problem occurs stably on three computers at intervals of approximately 15 minutes.
сgminer 3.2.0
Now, for reasons of clarity, сgminer was started with the - disable-gpu

Here I found the instructions to provide more information about the problem.
The following information from the bt full command:
Thanks for that. It's hard to know if it's crashing in libusb due to a libusb bug or we're calling a libusb function with invalid parameters. I'm inclined to always blame our code first to keep looking for a bug since our code is under very heavy development. We're revamping that section of code somewhat and hopefully indirectly address it.

Thank you so much!
After "git pool && make" Today everything was good. No segfaults!
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:03:07 PM
 #10811

I should be getting some eruptors next week. Are you saying with 3.2.1, I don't
need any special USB drivers or settings for WIN7? I know things are constantly in flux
with these new devices...

thanks

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 01:04:22 PM
 #10812

No you still have to replace drivers.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:05:43 PM
 #10813

I should be getting some eruptors next week. Are you saying with 3.2.1, I don't
need any special USB drivers or settings? I know things are constantly in flux
with these new devices...

thanks
On linux, nothing to do, just plug them in and run 3.2.1

On windows, you need to install the WinUSB driver with Zadig, not the default windows driver, then run 3.2.1

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Dunkelheit667
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 723


no degradation


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:10:57 PM
 #10814

...
Though I will add, anyone who has a few of them and uses them could they report how it's going?
Thanks.
...

First of all, thank you for taking care! Smiley

And here you go. Good news, my AMUs were detected on the rpi. Bad news, declared sick after 60 seconds hashing:

Code:
AMU 0:                | SICK  /7.402Mh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.62/m
 AMU 1:                | SICK  / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m
 AMU 2:                | 296.8M/130.5Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.11/m <- got SICK two seconds later
 BLT 0:                | 388.6M/365.3Mh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.49/m
 AMU 3:                | SICK  / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m

And this happend unplugging and plugging them back:

Code:
BLT 0:                | 396.0M/380.6Mh/s | A:26 R:0 HW:0 U: 6.64/m
 AMU 4:                | SICK  /2.484Mh/s | A: 1 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.26/m
 AMU 5:                | SICK  /19.96Mh/s | A: 3 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.77/m
 AMU 6:                | SICK  /36.54Mh/s | A: 4 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.02/m
 AMU 7:                | SICK  / 0.000h/s | A: 0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m
 AMU 0:                | ZOMBIE/41.13Mh/s | A: 3 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.77/m
 AMU 1:                | ZOMBIE/26.55Mh/s | A: 3 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.77/m
 AMU 2:                | ZOMBIE/ 0.000h/s | A: 0 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.00/m
 AMU 3:                | ZOMBIE/18.95Mh/s | A: 2 R:0 HW:0 U: 0.51/m

And the machine keeps pushing time through the cogs, like paste into strings into paste again, and only the machine keeps using time to make time to make time.
And when the machine stops, time is an illusion that we created free will.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:14:56 PM
 #10815

This happened when I added 5970 and 5770 to my miner. With only 5 cores I didn't have problems. But I do have a mix of cards if that might be a problem. 6790, 6870, 5850, 2x5970, 5770. Running 2.11.4, but the same problem is on 3.2.0(3.x has problems with my pool. I get disconnected all the time).
You've been told not to use -I 9 or higher for sha256 mining like 3 times now.  Don't do it.  When you decide to scrypt mine, which you seemed to imply you would at some point, you can try again, the -I levels are totally different for scrypt.
-I 9 is included in "-I 9 or higher".  Run at -I 8.  None of the cards in your original quote start with a 7 and I'm pretty sure there has been much discussion (again, 2 or 3 hundred pages ago [and again, this may be an especially on Windows situation]) about -I 9 or higher only being useful for 7xxx cards.  Running at too high of an intensity will cause the cards to go slower, which is what you are experiencing.  I don't know how to test the bus, but I don't think you need to worry about testing the bus.  If you were running at higher than -I 8 before, and nothing changed but an additional card on the bus, that seems like a pretty good test/indicator that the bus is overloaded.  If anything else changed at the same time, then you can troubleshoot what else changed by trying to change it back and/or starting from scratch.  If you were running a higher intensity on a different program before, then the numbers don't necessarily mean the same thing on a different program.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:27:19 PM
 #10816

...
Though I will add, anyone who has a few of them and uses them could they report how it's going?
Thanks.
...

First of all, thank you for taking care! Smiley

And here you go. Good news, my AMUs were detected on the rpi. Bad news, declared sick after 60 seconds hashing:

...
Hmm - OK I'll try the AMU on my RPi, I've not plugged it into that due to it needing power.
I've run the Jalapeno, BFL FPGA and BLT (Black Arrow Lancelot) without any trouble at all so far.
Though I have heard of issues in general due to power making it back to the RPi from a powered hub.
I'll see how mine goes ... yep seeing that happen here also.
OK time to track down what's happening.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:42:01 PM
 #10817

I should be getting some eruptors next week. Are you saying with 3.2.1, I don't
need any special USB drivers or settings? I know things are constantly in flux
with these new devices...

thanks
On linux, nothing to do, just plug them in and run 3.2.1

On windows, you need to install the WinUSB driver with Zadig, not the default windows driver, then run 3.2.1

What do you think about using the VCP driver mentioned here: (works with 3.1.1)

http://rdmsnippets.com/tag/block-erupter-usb/

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:44:23 PM
 #10818

...
Though I will add, anyone who has a few of them and uses them could they report how it's going?
Thanks.
...

I only have one, but it is working fine with 3.2.1 on linux.  Showing up as AMU 0 and hashing normally.  The very first time I launched 3.2.1, it didn't show up right away and then appeared 10 seconds later as a hotplug device even though it had been plugged in all along.  I assume this was just from the delay in the device getting fully initialized.  If I quit and restart cgminer, it appears right away from then on.

So, no problems yet (and I don't have the SICK problem reported by Dunkelheit667).

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
 #10819

I should be getting some eruptors next week. Are you saying with 3.2.1, I don't
need any special USB drivers or settings? I know things are constantly in flux
with these new devices...

thanks
On linux, nothing to do, just plug them in and run 3.2.1

On windows, you need to install the WinUSB driver with Zadig, not the default windows driver, then run 3.2.1

What do you think about using the VCP driver mentioned here: (works with 3.1.1)

http://rdmsnippets.com/tag/block-erupter-usb/
That is using the now-defunct serial interface which cgminer 3.2+ no longer uses, much like the ftdi_sio driver did. We use direct USB code.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:50:39 PM
 #10820

Thanks, and no one is reporting issues running the normal usb devices(keyboard, mouse, printers, etc.) using the zadig driver? Planning on running them on my main desktop, so I don't want any problems with normal activities.  :-D

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
Pages: « 1 ... 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 [541] 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!