Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:35:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 [542] 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4817139 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 01:51:41 PM
 #10821

Thanks, and no one is reporting issues running the normal usb devices(keyboard, mouse, printers, etc.) using the zadig driver? Planning on running them on my main desktop, so I don't want any problems with normal activities.  :-D
Zadig is a tool to associate your choice of driver with the device you want, it is not a driver. Only associate WinUSB with the mining device and don't touch any other USB devices...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480876554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876554
Reply with quote  #2

1480876554
Report to moderator
1480876554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876554
Reply with quote  #2

1480876554
Report to moderator
1480876554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480876554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480876554
Reply with quote  #2

1480876554
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 01:53:11 PM
 #10822

hey guys

I have 3 gpus in my system 1 apu and 2 dedicated gpus, how can i startup cgminer with the third gpu (gpu 2) turned off? I tried setting intensity to 0 but that doesn't work.

Do I specify it via the -d switch? If so what is the syntax?

Thanks
-d 0-1 --remove-disabled


I added that to my bat file and i get "invalid device number"

fyi:
GPU 0 = 6950
GPU 1 = 5770
GPU 2 = APU

Thanks for your help

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 01:55:04 PM
 #10823

hey guys

I have 3 gpus in my system 1 apu and 2 dedicated gpus, how can i startup cgminer with the third gpu (gpu 2) turned off? I tried setting intensity to 0 but that doesn't work.

Do I specify it via the -d switch? If so what is the syntax?

Thanks
-d 0-1 --remove-disabled


I added that to my bat file and i get "invalid device number"

fyi:
GPU 0 = 6950
GPU 1 = 5770
GPU 2 = APU

Thanks for your help
What is the output of 'cgminer -n' ?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1744


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 02:00:49 PM
 #10824

First of all, thank you for taking care! Smiley

And here you go. Good news, my AMUs were detected on the rpi. Bad news, declared sick after 60 seconds hashing:

Code:
[2013-06-07 15:56:49] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:56:49] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:57:05] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:57:05] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:57:32] AMU2: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-06-07 15:57:37] Accepted c3f18eac Diff 1/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-07 15:57:42] AMU2: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-06-07 15:58:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU1: Attempting to restart
same here...
sLide.
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 03:52:56 PM
 #10825

I'm experiencing a issue with CGminer.

I recently moved my XFX 6870 from my gaming machine which was used to mine when I wasn't gaming to my first rig.  I keep getting error's from windows saying it had to stop the program from running.

MoBo: msi x58A-GD45
Proc: I7 920
Memory : 2GB
Video Card: 6870 XFX HD - CCC Version - 13.4 Direct3D Version 9.14.10.0969

Not entirely sure what the problem could be.  I've tried running as admin.  Any help?  Thanks!
I had same problem with incompatible OpenCL driver combination... Changing it might help

In event log, I'm getting this error -

- System

  - Provider

   [ Name]  Application Error
 
  - EventID 1000

   [ Qualifiers]  0
 
   Level 2
 
   Task 100
 
   Keywords 0x80000000000000
 
  - TimeCreated

   [ SystemTime]  2013-06-07T14:03:10.000000000Z
 
   EventRecordID 1752
 
   Channel Application
 
   Computer Miner1-PC
 
   Security
 

- EventData

   cgminer.exe
   0.0.0.0
   518e20db
   cgminer.exe
   0.0.0.0
   518e20db
   c0000005
   000265be
   12a0
   01ce6387bbccda57
   C:\Users\Miner1\Desktop\cgminer\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.exe
   C:\Users\Miner1\Desktop\cgminer\cgminer-3.1.1-windows\cgminer.exe
   fc31de57-cf7a-11e2-8d68-6c626de9cc51


Any help on this.  Google is saying that some of these error's happen when the Proc trys to access "No-Mans Land" in the memory.  It's pretty much a dump spot.  Any advice?

Aim - Slide.0
1J6UeiXtBYXmpA6uajRs3aJpUD1Tsj1CF3 - Tips?
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 03:53:34 PM
 #10826

First of all, thank you for taking care! Smiley

And here you go. Good news, my AMUs were detected on the rpi. Bad news, declared sick after 60 seconds hashing:

Code:
[2013-06-07 15:56:49] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:56:49] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:57:05] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:57:05] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:57:32] AMU2: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-06-07 15:57:37] Accepted c3f18eac Diff 1/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-07 15:57:42] AMU2: invalid nonce - HW error
 [2013-06-07 15:58:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-07 15:58:19] AMU1: Attempting to restart
same here...

Same issue with Ubintu. downgraded to 3.1.1 again.

Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:07:05 PM
 #10827

This happened when I added 5970 and 5770 to my miner. With only 5 cores I didn't have problems. But I do have a mix of cards if that might be a problem. 6790, 6870, 5850, 2x5970, 5770. Running 2.11.4, but the same problem is on 3.2.0(3.x has problems with my pool. I get disconnected all the time).
You've been told not to use -I 9 or higher for sha256 mining like 3 times now.  Don't do it.  When you decide to scrypt mine, which you seemed to imply you would at some point, you can try again, the -I levels are totally different for scrypt.
-I 9 is included in "-I 9 or higher".  Run at -I 8.  None of the cards in your original quote start with a 7 and I'm pretty sure there has been much discussion (again, 2 or 3 hundred pages ago [and again, this may be an especially on Windows situation]) about -I 9 or higher only being useful for 7xxx cards.  Running at too high of an intensity will cause the cards to go slower, which is what you are experiencing.  I don't know how to test the bus, but I don't think you need to worry about testing the bus.  If you were running at higher than -I 8 before, and nothing changed but an additional card on the bus, that seems like a pretty good test/indicator that the bus is overloaded.  If anything else changed at the same time, then you can troubleshoot what else changed by trying to change it back and/or starting from scratch.  If you were running a higher intensity on a different program before, then the numbers don't necessarily mean the same thing on a different program.
Whatever... I figure it out but I don't know why this works... I have changed difficulty from 2 to 8 and now I can set intensity to whatever I like. And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 04:32:20 PM
 #10828

I am running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.... Have 1 GPU, 1 BFL single fpga and 8 Block Erupters plugged into this machine.

Using cgminer 64 bit 3.2.1 the block erupters keep going zombie, after about an hour I have 21 zombies.. the good thing is they keep getting reset and keep right on hashing... but this can't be a good thing.... Kano, should I get and try your patch 3.2.1a?  can I help add some more info....

The BLF and the GPU are fine and stable.

Naelr

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:34:00 PM
 #10829

Is there any performance benefits to 3.2.1 over 3.1.1? yeah, i know ya changed how the drivers work, but i'm wondering if i really need to upgrade a dedicated rig with ASICminers and one small GPU since i currently have 3.1.1 working. I'm kind of thinking "if it ain't broke, doen't fix it.".

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:36:33 PM
 #10830

Is there any performance benefits to 3.2.1 over 3.1.1? yeah, i know ya changed how the drivers work, but i'm wondering if i really need to upgrade a dedicated rig with ASICminers and one small GPU since i currently have 3.1.1 working. I'm kind of thinking "if it ain't broke, doen't fix it.".
It spouse to be less HW errors and CPU usage... So yes... More shares and less power consumption...
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:38:26 PM
 #10831

Is there any performance benefits to 3.2.1 over 3.1.1? yeah, i know ya changed how the drivers work, but i'm wondering if i really need to upgrade a dedicated rig with ASICminers and one small GPU since i currently have 3.1.1 working. I'm kind of thinking "if it ain't broke, doen't fix it.".
It spouse to be less HW errors... So yes...

Ok, thanks. i'm not seeing many hardware errors, maybe 1 per 15 minutes, if that.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:43:52 PM
 #10832

Whatever... I figure it out but I don't know why this works... I have changed difficulty from 2 to 8 and now I can set intensity to whatever I like. And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...
Sounds like the CPU (or 100% CPU utilization AMD driver bug) is your bottleneck and not the bus.  If you have a dual core or hyperthreading, 50% CPU = 100% CPU Utilization because cgminer is single-threaded.  I apologize if that last (italicized) statement isn't true, because I don't know it to be fact from reviewing any code.  To clarify, I haven't run cgminer in Windows in a long time, but when I did, it seemed to be the case (it might be something else related to the drivers that is single threaded).  Regardless, the point is that by increasing the difficulty, you reduced the number of shares that cgminer had to use the processor to validate, allowing more processor time to generate and distribute work.  That having been said, if cgminer is still using 50% CPU, that is still wasting a lot of electricity and may not be worth the additional 150MH/s and/or the additional variance the higher difficulty will bring.
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 04:50:32 PM
 #10833

Whatever... I figure it out but I don't know why this works... I have changed difficulty from 2 to 8 and now I can set intensity to whatever I like. And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...
Sounds like the CPU (or 100% CPU utilization AMD driver bug) is your bottleneck and not the bus.  If you have a dual core or hyperthreading, 50% CPU = 100% CPU Utilization because cgminer is single-threaded.  I apologize if that last (italicized) statement isn't true, because I don't know it to be fact from reviewing any code.  To clarify, I haven't run cgminer in Windows in a long time, but when I did, it seemed to be the case (it might be something else related to the drivers that is single threaded).  Regardless, the point is that by increasing the difficulty, you reduced the number of shares that cgminer had to use the processor to validate, allowing more processor time to generate and distribute work.  That having been said, if cgminer is still using 50% CPU, that is still wasting a lot of electricity and may not be worth the additional 150MH/s and/or the additional variance the higher difficulty will bring.
Nope one core. AMD 145... 35W on full and less then 50% usage... Pool is DMG so variance is not big issue. I got it working. I don't know why but it works. And I will not fix it until it brakes again...

Is there any performance benefits to 3.2.1 over 3.1.1? yeah, i know ya changed how the drivers work, but i'm wondering if i really need to upgrade a dedicated rig with ASICminers and one small GPU since i currently have 3.1.1 working. I'm kind of thinking "if it ain't broke, doen't fix it.".
It spouse to be less HW errors... So yes...

Ok, thanks. i'm not seeing many hardware errors, maybe 1 per 15 minutes, if that.
Well I'm still using 2.11.4 since there is something in 3.x that makes it disconnect from my pool every now and then... So I'm also a fan of don't fix it if it is not broken... Hire uptime is important...
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:04:18 PM
 #10834

This is a very long thread and my google searches have not discovered anything.

My question is has anyone seen cgminer fail to update the "Block" it is working on even though
in the output you see that "Stratum from pool 0 has detected a new block"?

I am using 3.1.1. I am mining with --scrypt. It does not happen right away. The cgminer program
might have to be running for a week. I have seen it happen a couple of times now on different
mining computers.

I wanted to check the CHANGELOG but it appears to not contain anything.

Simply closing the program and reopening it fixes the issue.

So I am asking here. Thanks.
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 05:08:03 PM
 #10835

I am running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.... Have 1 GPU, 1 BFL single fpga and 8 Block Erupters plugged into this machine.

Using cgminer 64 bit 3.2.1 the block erupters keep going zombie, after about an hour I have 21 zombies.. the good thing is they keep getting reset and keep right on hashing... but this can't be a good thing.... Kano, should I get and try your patch 3.2.1a?  can I help add some more info....

The BLF and the GPU are fine and stable.

Naelr

Ok after zombies made my console go off the screen I stoped and restarted and almost instantly AMU 8 zombied and restarted.

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
TheOrri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 05:34:15 PM
 #10836

i used 3.2.1 but didn't recognize the usb asicminers. Perhaps because i use a usb 3.0 hub ?

Have the same problem. Followed all the steps. I'm on ubuntu 12.04.

Edit:

Never mind, It works  Cheesy. However, I need to start cgminer and then restart it again in the menu, in order to detect the USB sticks.
You might want to try that. Also, check if cgminer detects the USB miners without the hub. If so, the problem is probably in the hub.
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2013, 06:28:09 PM
 #10837

I am running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.... Have 1 GPU, 1 BFL single fpga and 8 Block Erupters plugged into this machine.

Using cgminer 64 bit 3.2.1 the block erupters keep going zombie, after about an hour I have 21 zombies.. the good thing is they keep getting reset and keep right on hashing... but this can't be a good thing.... Kano, should I get and try your patch 3.2.1a?  can I help add some more info....

The BLF and the GPU are fine and stable.

Naelr

Ok after zombies made my console go off the screen I stoped and restarted and almost instantly AMU 8 zombied and restarted.

OK downloaded Kano's patch and so far so good 10 mins no zombies... my brains are safe I think.

edit: spoke too soon... 2 zombies

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
Kuma
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 06:44:48 PM
 #10838

Are there any known Avalon hashrate regressions? I tried latest FW with 3.2.1 cgminer and both Avalons have lower hasrate (the difference from the last FW is around 1Ghash).
It looks there are more HW errors, but I'm not 100% sure.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 09:43:33 PM
 #10839

And I got back missing 150MH by seting cards to 10 and 12. So I'm on full speed now. I know it is not the internet since I have tested the cards on another computer before installing it and they worked... I still think it is a bug...

EDIT: So that much about getting slower over 8...

Has your WU: increased as well?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:48:36 PM
 #10840

i used 3.2.1 but didn't recognize the usb asicminers. Perhaps because i use a usb 3.0 hub ?
Yeah that was going to be the next thing to sort out, USB 3.0

But there is still another AMU problem I'm looking at first - 'SICK' on the RPi that I get also - looking into it ...
I'd not tried the RPi due to the fact that for me, linux crashes when I plug my powered hub with the AMU into my RPi Tongue
Though I found last night I can plug in the hub first then the AMU and it doesn't.
(Probably the hubs fault, but it works OK now if I order it the right way, and 3.1.1a works also ... so I can reproduce the problem ...)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 [542] 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!